Visa Requirements for travel to Europe

Visa Requirements for travel to Estonia

Estonia Travel Visa Requirements

Who does not need a visa to visit Estonia?

As of 21 December 2007, Estonia is a part of the Schengen visa area.

Nationals of the member states of EU and EEA - Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, United Kingdom - and Switzerland.

The bases for their stay in Estonia are regulated by the Citizen of European Union Act (the text is available on the homepage of Estonian Legal Language Centre).

Schengen States - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, The Netherlands, Greece, Finland, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Portugal, Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta.

! Although documents are not checked when one crosses an internal Schengen border, it is still necessary for EU citizens (including Estonians) to carry a passport or ID card. Authorities (police, immigration officials) in Schengen states do have the right to check identifying documents, if necessary.

1. The holders of passports of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Estonia for stays of no more than three months in a 6 month period*:


A - Andorra, Argentina, Australia
B - Brazil, Brunei
C - Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia
E - El Salvador
G - Guatemala
H - Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
I - Israel
J - Japan
M - Macao Special Administrative Region, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco
N - New Zealand, Nicaragua
P - Panama, Paraguay
S - San Marino, Singapore, South Korea
U - United States of America, Uruguay
V - Venezuela

* The section is based on the European Council Regulation No 539/2001 of 15 March 2001 listing the third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement.

Citizens of countries NOT mentioned above require a visa to enter Estonia.

2. Citizens of third countries, who in addition to the valid passport of the country of their citizenship present the Swedish residence card, which has been issued pursuant to the Directive 2004/38/EC of the EU Parliament and the Council bearing a text "Family member of a Union citizen" may enter Estonia without a visa in case they travel to Estonia from another EU member state. Abolition of visas is applied only in case the family member travels together: 1. with the EU citizen or 2. to the EU citizen (in that case residence information of the EU citizen in Estonia has to be included into the National Population Register of Estonia). Visa-free stay may last up to 90 days during six months. The mentioned residence card does not allow the holder to cross the external border of EU without a visa.

3. The holders of the diplomatic passports of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Moldova, Ukraine, Georgia and Russia may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 90 days within six months.

4. The holders of the diplomatic and service passports of Macedonia, Bolivia and Peru may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 90 days within six months.

5. The holders of the diplomatic passports of Turkey may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 30 days within a six month period.

The holders of the Laissez- Passer issued by the United Nations may stay visa-free in Estonia for up to 90 days within a six month period.
Click here for the latest official travel visa advice for Estonia
Places to visit in

This website has been funded by contributions from HamperGuru - the independant Hamper Review Site

(c) 2007 ithsc